Discover your Purpose and See the Oasis of Endless Possibilities that are within reach

“There are so many stupid things that steal that purpose from us. The stupid things that you believe a lie that we ‘re not as important as we really are. That our life isn’t as important as it really is. It’s important to the people that you love, it’s important to the people that you will love in the future, it’s important to the world around you and it’s so important that you fulfill the purpose that only you can fulfill the way that you can fulfill that.” 
― Lacey Mosley

I have read Rick Warren’s book, “A purpose Driven Life” and always wondered what the fuss was about about finding purpose. At that time I thought the purpose was to find a calling in terms of ministry and church like being an usher or serving in whatever area that I could serve. What a limited view of the word “Purpose” that was! Why would there be so much importance on finding purpose, what is purpose and what role does it play in your life and where you are going?

According to the Miriam Webster Dictionary, Purpose means 

the reason why something is done or used : the aim or intention of something

: the feeling of being determined to do or achieve something

: the aim or goal of a person : what a person is trying to do, become, etc.

In this case I argue with the dictionary a bit because the word “try” does not exist.If you have read my previous blog, you will see why. You are either doing or not doing. You cannot “try”.

Purpose gives meaning to life. Knowing your purpose opens you up to a whole new world. For example, I didn’t just wake up one day and decided I wanted to start a blog. I tried a few years ago and failed because I had not found my purpose. By profession I do Business. Strategy, Capacity building, business transformation, etc., but by purpose I do people, yes I do people.

I believe I can make a difference with the people because I love people, I want to work with people and what drives me is the passion to see a holistic positive change in people’s lives. What gives me an adrenaline rush is seeing people’s lives being transformed by the renewal of the mind. Give me people, it does not matter their race, their gender or social status and I brighten up. I am good with business strategy, capacity building, business transformation, operations management but I did it because I needed a job and I was good at it but this is not who I am. If you give me your business, I can really help you get to where you want to go, create the strategy for growth, development, identify gaps in the market etc but I just realized this it’s not who I am. I am a people person so this means my job has to do with people. I quit my job and my life in North America because I wanted to come back home and make a difference in people’s lives.

Ever since I have found and discovered my purpose, I have started to see things that have something to do with people from a different angle. I am not a psychologist by a long short, neither do I aspire to be one, but there is just something about having an interest in people and just observing people that opens up your mind to why people live a limited life. I have come to realize why we have different social classes in the world.What sets us apart as Africans is not money but it’s just how our minds operate. We have never been taught to find purpose and that we can do anything and become anything. We have never been exposed to a different kind of living and for this reason, I am passionate to help people see who they are deep at their core and what they can become by just a mind transformation.

We have been taught to go to school, get a formal education,get a university degree, it doesn’t matter why, we just have to do it. After university, get a job, get married, have children, then if you are lucky you might own a business or two. That is a very limited life. I know some children who were great athletes or soccer players, had a passion for it but were told to drop it because it interfered with their studies. Some went on to take career choices that they  had no passionate about and others never really amounted to anything.

Perhaps you are wondering why you hate your job or even you life? Find your purpose. Purpose enriches life. Purpose gives substance and meaning to life. Purpose awakens your core and your eyes begin to open and you begin to see gaps and where you fit into that gap. Purpose helps you maximize your human potential.

My purpose has turned me into an activist for “Poverty Eradication in Africa”. I call it poverty eradication because we truly as a continent can eradicate poverty. If you haven’t noticed we have a lot going on for us. We have the best natural resources in the world, we have oil, coffee, tea etc.

“I believe that poverty is a disease and cannot be eradicated or treated properly unless people are truly equipped from within. People are poor because of financial, political or even socio-economic circumstances, though true but mostly because of their mindsets. Minds need to be renewed and this can only happen when people discover who they are, their purpose and their uniqueness as a distinct value”  

By discovering my purposes I have truly found where I fit in.  The best way to discovering your purpose is by simply discovering yourself, who you are truly, the way God designed you, not what society, parents or whatever system exists out there says you are.  Yes I have gladly joined the empowerment gurus in a movement to preach the gospel of self discovery.

I love the journey of self discovery it’s interesting, it’s painful, it’s healing, it’s refreshing but more than anything it’s revealing. Along the way my mind has been opened up and renewed to the infinite possibilities around me. I have discovered that life really is an oasis of endless possibilities and opportunities. By simply discovering myself and being true to my original self and what God wanted . I have come to know my values and my choices are based on my values and I just realized family is not at the top of my list. Freedom and liberation are the most important things to me followed by happiness. I want to be happy and find joy in everything that I do. I want to throw caution to the wind and really still choose to believe that people are still great in their own way, we just have to accept their choices.  I know now that I am unique and that it is this uniqueness that give me a distinct value that I can use to add value to women and society at large.

I dare you to be gutsy.bold.courageous and step into your purpose and see what you are missing out.

 

One thought on “Discover your Purpose and See the Oasis of Endless Possibilities that are within reach

Leave a Reply

